Triple J Investigations & Security

Affordable Solutions to an Ever-Changing World


Our Company

  1. How Much Do You Charge?

    Fees are based on the nature & scope of your individual case. Everyone has a budget and price is certainly a consideration. However, when you get tunnel vision and hire a private investigator based upon fees alone, you will be disappointed.

    It is difficult to compare "apples to apples" when hiring a private investigator in Oklahoma.

    Triple J Investigations & Security has investigative experience in many areas. Through continual education and embracing newer technologies, more services are offered.

    Our professionals have invested years obtaining training & experience in the public and private sector. Our staff are licensed investigators in the State of Oklahoma, Law Enforcement, and/or both.

    To answer this question with a little more detail though, we require a retainer fee for several different services, as well as an hourly fee based on total hours worked on each individual case.

    Some of the services offered are only charged on an hourly or per case fee. The lowest hourly rate is $65.00 per hour, and the highest hourly rate is $125.00, though some services may incur multiple hours charged whether it be a two hour charge minimum, or in upwards of what the particular assignment assesses in overall fees, charges, and expenses.

    As stated above, each case is unique unto itself, and your services will be charged appropriately and effictvely as not to overcharge for services.

  2. Will you tell anyone that I hired you?

    We will only disclose the identity of current/former clients with the permission of the client or under direct court order. We go to great lengths to protect our client at all times.

  3. Can you tap phones, obtain phone records, peek into windows, etc?

    We handle each case as though it will go to court, even if it doesn't. As ethical professionals, we strive to obey ALL federal, state, and local laws. We will not assist anyone that expects us to break the law, nor will we tell you how to tap a phone, bug a room, etc.

  4. I want to retain Triple J Investigations & Security. How do I go about it?

    Call 1-888-602-5552, and select the appropriate extension to take advantage of your free consultation, or contact us through our website using the submission forms found on the website so that we can set up an appointment for consultation. Your first consultation is always free. If we feel that we may be able to help, you will be required to sign a contract for services before any requested services can be executed. If we can not help you, we are more than willing to assist and refer you to someone that may be able to help you in your needs.

Back to top

Fugitive Recovery

  1. What are the laws concerning Fugitive Recovery or Bounty Hunting?

    Oklahoma State Law

    A surety may at any time and place in the state arrest his principal, or by written authority on a certified copy of the undertaking, authorize another of suitable age and discretion to do so. (OK S, Title 39.1328 & 1329) (Crim. Proc. 1107). Out of state bounty hunter or bond agent must be accompanied by peace officer or licensed Oklahoma bond agent when seeking to apprehend a fugitive (OK S 1750.14). UCEA H 1786/S 445 Regulates bail recovery agents


    Any person who shall knowingly feed, lodge, clothe, arm, equip in whole or in part, harbor, aid, assist or conceal in any manner any person guilty of any felony, or outlaw, or fugitive from justice, or any person seeking to escape any crime committed within this State or any other State or Territory, shall be punished by imprisonment at hard labor in the penitentiary for a period not exceeding ten years. R.L. 1910:2204.

  2. What is the history of Bounty Hunting?

    Bounty Hunting refers back to the days when rewards were offered for the capture or killing of any articulated person. You should notice that in today’s climate while rewards may be offered, it is only for information leading to the capture of a fugitive. Since professionals in our industry typically only work to secure the apprehension of a bail bond-secured defendant we are solely enforcing a bail contract on behalf of a surety on a bail bond. We work for professional fees, not bounties. In our industry, Bounty Hunter is increasingly being used in a derogatory manner.

    Bounty Hunting originated in England hundreds of years ago. Back in the 13th century, bail was a person, not an amount of money. In 1679, the British Parliament passed the Habeas Corpus Act, which for the first time guaranteed that an accused person could be released from prison on monetary bail. This right was later written into the U.S. Constitution. The Eighth Amendment to the Constitution prohibited the setting of excessive bail, and the Judiciary Act of 1789, which established the U.S. judicial court system. Federal bail law remained unchanged until the Bail Reform Act of 1966, which allowed the prisoner to be released with as little bail as possible. The bounty hunter was given broad authority starting in 1873 with the U.S. Supreme Court case, Taylor vs. Taintor. The case gave bounty hunters the authority to act as agents of bail bondsmen. Bounty hunters on trial of a bail jumper could "pursue him into another state" and, if necessary,” break and enter his house for that purpose." Today the laws are few when it comes to bounty hunting.

Back to top

Self Defense (Pepper Spray)

  1. Should I worry about owning and using a Pepper Spray?

    Below are pepper spray laws and restrictions that we are aware of. You should check locally if you believe pepper sprays may be restricted in your area.

    State Laws and Restrictions

    States Where Pepper Sprays are Restricted

    (We cannot ship to these states. If an order is placed your order will be cancelled)

    New York: New York residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers or licensed Pharmacists in that state.

    Massachusetts: Massachusetts residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers in that state.

    States Where Pepper Sprays Have Some Restrictions

    Michigan: Pepper spray must not be more than 10% and can be used for self defense. "The reasonable use of a self-defense spray or foam device containing not more than 10% oleoresin capsicum by a person in the protection of a person or property under circumstances that would justify the person's use of physical force."

    Wisconsin: Tear gas is not permissible. By regulation, OC products with a maximum OC concentration of 10% and weight range of oleoresin of capsicum and inert ingredients of 15-60 grams are authorized. This is 1/2 oz. and 2 oz. spray. Further, the product cannot be camouflaged, and must have a safety feature designed to prevent accidental discharge. The units may not have an effective range of over 20 feet and must have an effective range of six feet. In addition there are certain labeling and packaging requirements: must state cannot sell to anyone under 18 and the phone number of the manufacturer has to be on the label. The units must also be sold in sealed tamper-proof packages.

    NOTE: Pepper Spray is legal in all 50 states, however a number of cities and states have restrictions on sizes, strengths, etc.. If you have a question, it is wise to check with you local city or state attorneys office. Defense sprays should only be purchased by those 18 years of age or older. The above list may not be totally accurate or complete and Triple J Investigations accepts no responsibility for its accuracy or completeness.

  2. Does pepper spray have an expiration date?

    Pepper spray does have an expiration date, typically it is 3 years from the date of purchase.

  3. Can you ship bear and dog sprays to all 50 states?

    Bear and dog spray can be sent to every state except MA as they require an FOID card to purchase those sprays.

Back to top

Self Defense (Stun Guns and Tasers)

  1. I noticed that you offer Stun Guns and Tasers, are they legal for me to have in my state?

    Look below and you will find the restrictions for stun guns and tasers for your state. If your state is not listed, you may still need to contact your local government agency on the legality for your area.

    *Note: As of 9-22-2012, We are no longer able to sell Taser products without first obtaining an FFL, and have a "Brick and Mortar" storefront.

    Stun Guns Laws and Restrictions

















    DENSION / CRAWFORD COUNTY, IA (*According to Sheriff Tom Hogan*)





















    CONNECTICUT: Legal with Restrictions

    Connecticut Criminal Law Title 53 ? Crimes, Title 53a ? Penal Code, title 54 Criminal Procedure, Chapter 950 Section 53a-3 Definitions: (20) "Electronic defense weapon" means a weapon which by electronic impulse or current is capable of immobilizing a person temporarily, but is not capable of inflicting death or serious injury. §53-206. Carrying and sale of dangerous weapons Any person who carries upon his person? an electronic defense weapon, as defined in 53a-3, or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument, unless such person has been granted a written permit issued and signed by the first selectman of a town, the mayor or chief of police of a city or the warden of a borough, authoring such person to carry such weapon or instrument within such city or borough, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than three years or both. No permit shall be issued to any applicant who has ever been convicted of a felony. The issuing authority may request the applicants finger prints and full information concerning his criminal record and make an investigation concerning his criminal record and make an investigation concerning the suitability of the applicant to carry any such weapon. Refusal of fingerprinting by the applicant shall be sufficient cause to refuse issuance of a permit. Whenever any person is found guilty of a violation of this subsection, any weapon or other implement within the provisions hereof, found upon the body of such person, shall be forfeited to the municipality wherein such person was apprehended, not withstanding any failure of the judgment of conviction to expressly impose such forfeiture. Any person who has been granted a permit to carry any martial arts weapon pursuant to this section may carry such weapon anywhere within the state. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any officer charged with the preservation of the public peace nor to any person who is found with any such weapon or implement concealed upon his person while lawfully removing his household goods or effects from one place to another, or from one residence to another, nor to any person while actually and peaceably engaged in carrying any such weapon or implement from his place of abode or business to a place or person where or by whom such weapon or implements is to be repaired, or while actually and peaceable returning to his place of abode or business with such weapon or implement after the same has been repaired. (b) any person who sells to another? electronic defense weapon, as defined in section 53a-3, shall, within 24 hours after the deliver of such weapon or implement to the person to whom sold, give written notice of such sale or delivery, specifying the article sold and the name and address of the person to whom sold or delivered, to the chief of police of the city, the warden of the borough or the first selectman of the town, within which such weapon or implement is sold or delivered, as the case may be. Any person who violates any provision of this subsection shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars. SUMMARY: Section 53-206(a) prohibits the carrying of a Stunning Device on the person unless that person has obtained a dangerous weapons permit. However, there are no state-wide permits, only local permits ? the permit is only good in that particular town and would be illegal elsewhere. Anyone selling such a weapon must notify the chief of police with that information within 24 hours of the delivery. Therefore Stunning Devices can be sold and it can be kept in your place of business or home, but you cannot carry it on your person without a permit which is only good within the limits of the city in which it was issued.


    District of Columbia Law. DC Code Ann. Title 6, Chapter 23. Firearms Control. Subchapter I. General Provisions 6-2302.

    (7) "Destructive device" means:

    (B) "Any device by whatever name known which will, or is designed, or may be readily converted or restored, to expel a projectile by the action of an explosive or other propellant through a smooth bore barrel, except a shotgun."

    (D) Any device designed or redesigned, made or remade, or readily converted or restored, and intended to stun or disable a person by means of electric shock.

    Subchapter II. Firearms and Destructive Devices. General Provision 6-2311. Registration requirements:

    (a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person or organization in the District of Columbia ("District") shall receive, possess, control, transfer, offer for sale, sell, give, or deliver any destructive device, and no person or organization in the District shall possess or control any firearm, unless that person or organization holds a valid registration certificate for the firearm.

    Subchapter V. Sales and Transfer of Firearms, Destructive Devices, and Ammunition. General Provision 6-2351. Sales and transfers prohibited. No person or organization shall sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of any firearm, destructive device or ammunition in the District except as provided in *** 6-2352, or 6-2375.

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Washington, DC.


    ILLINOIS: Restricted

    1. In order to possess a Taser or stun gun, an individual must have a valid FOID card, as is currently required for firearms.

    2. Sellers of Taser or stun guns must check the buyers FOID card and keep the record of sale for ten years, the same requirements for firearms sales.

    3. When a licensed firearms dealer sells a Taser or stun gun, they must request a background check of the buyer.

    4. The 24-hour waiting period required for long guns, shotguns, and rifles, will also apply to taser and stun gun purchases.


    HAWAII: Illegal

    Hawaii State Law. Rev. Stats. Title 10, Chapter 134. Firearms, Ammunition and Dangerous Weapons. Part 1. General Regulations. Chapter 134-1 Definitions.

    "Electric gun" means any portable device that is electrically operated to project a missile or electromotive force.

    Chapter 134-16 Restriction on possession, sale, gift or delivery of electric guns.

    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person, including a licensed manufacturer, licensed importer or licensed dealer, to possess, offer for sale, hold for sale, sell, give, lend or deliver any electric gun.

    (b) Any electric gun in violation of subsection (a) shall be confiscated and disposed of by the chief of police.

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Hawaii.



    Massachusetts State Law. Ann. Laws of Massachusetts. Chapter 140. Sale of Firearms. Section 131J: Sale or possession of electrical weapons; penalties. Section 131J. No person shall sell, offer for sale or possess a portable device or weapon from which an electric current, impulse, wave or beam may be directed, which current, impulse, wave or beam is designed to incapacitate temporarily, injure or kill. Whoever violates this provision of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than one thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not less than six months nor more than two years in a jail or house of correction, or both.

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Massachusetts.


    MICHIGAN: Illegal (New legislation being enacted August 6th, 2012)

    The Michigan Penal Code Act 328 of 1931. Chapter 750.224a Portable device or weapon directing electrical current, impulse, wave, or beam; sale or possession prohibited; testing.

    (1) A person shall not sell, offer for sale, or possess in this state a portable device or weapon from which an electric current, impulse, wave or beam is designed to incapacitate temporarily, injure, or kill.

    (3) A person who violates this section is guilty of a felony.

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Michigan. *Note: to review the new laws concerning and the legality of owning a Taser in Michigan, click the links for SB029 and SB030.


    NEW JERSEY: Illegal

    New Jersey State Law. New Jersey Stat. Ann. Title 2C. New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice. Chapter 39-1. Prohibited weapons and devices.

    (Section "r" summarized from Chapter 2C:39-1) "Weapon" means anything readily capable of lethal use or of inflicting serious bodily injury. The term includes, but is not limited to all (4) stun guns; and any weapon or (this section refers to tear gas and has been updated in 1995) other device which projects, releases, or emits tear gas or any other substance intended to produce temporary physical discomfort or permanent injury through being vaporized or otherwise dispensed in the air.

    (t) "Stun gun" means any weapon or other device which emits an electrical charge or current intended to temporarily or permanently disable a person.

    Senate, No. 2871 -- L.1985, c. 360

    Senate Bill No. 2781, as amended by the Senate Law, Public Safety and Defense Committee, prohibits as a crime of the fourth degree the possession of a stun gun by any person, including a law enforcement officer. A crime of the fourth degree carries a penalty of imprisonment for up to 18 months, a fine of up to $7,500, or both. Prior to being amended the bill classified possession of a crime in the third degree. {Editor’s Note: According to Len Lawson of NJ Legislative Council, (609) 292-4625) NJ does not classify crimes in felonies versus misdemeanors. The highest crimes are in first degree on down to fourth degree. A fourth degree penalty is a serious charge and is generally considered a misdemeanor in common terms. It is however an indictable offense. A fourth degree crime does contain "a presumption of non-custodial sentencing," meaning that there is not imprisonment if there are no prior convictions. In some cases the sentencing is obviated from one’s record if there is a period of good behavior following the charge.}

    The committee amended the bill to include a provision authorizing the Attorney General, at his discretion, to exempt law enforcement officers from the prohibition against possession stun guns.

    The bill also was amended by the committee to include stun guns in the definition of "weapon" in paragraph r. N.J.S. 2C:39-1.

    (Chapter 2C:39-1)

    (h) Stun guns. Any person who knowingly has in his possession any stun gun is guilty of a crime in the fourth degree.

    SUMMARY: Possession is banned of Stunning Devices in New Jersey.


    NEW YORK: Illegal

    New York Consolidated Law (McKinney’s) Book 39. Penal Law.

    Article 265. Firearms and Other Dangerous Weapons 265.00

    15-a. "Electronic dart gun" means any device designed primarily as a weapon, the purpose of which is to momentarily stun, knock out or paralyze a person by passing an electrical shock to such person by means of a dart or projectile.

    15-c. "Electronic stun gun" means any device designed primarily as a weapon, the purpose of which is to momentarily stun, cause mental disorientation, knock out or paralyze a person by passing a high voltage electrical shock to such person.

    Article 265.01 Criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree. A person is guilty of criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree when: (1) He possesses any firearm, electronic dart gun, electronic stun gun ***; or ***

    SUMMARY: Possession is banned of Stunning Devices in New York.


    RHODE ISLAND: Illegal

    General Laws of Rhode Island. Title 11, Chapter 47. Statute Subsection 11-47-42. Weapons other than firearms prohibited. - (A) No person shall carry or possess or attempt to use against another, any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a *** stun gun ***. Any person violating the provisions of this subsection, shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or both such fine and imprisonment, and the weapon so found shall be confiscated.

    SUMMARY: Possession and use of Stunning Devices are banned.


    WISCONSIN: Illegal

    Wisconsin Sta. Ann. Chapter 939. Crimes - General Provisions. Chapter 939.22 Words and phrases defined. (10) Dangerous weapon" means any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded ***; any device designed as a weapon and capable of producing great harm ***; any electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295(4); or any other device or instrumentality which, in the manner it is used or intended to be used, is calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm.

    Chapter 941.295 Possession of electric weapon. Subsection (1) On or after July 1, 1982, whoever sells, transports, manufactures, possesses or goes armed with any electric weapon is guilty of a Class E felony. Subsection (4) In this section, "electric weapon" means any device which is designed, redesigned, used or intended to be used, offensively or defensively, to immobilize or incapacitate persons by the use electric current.

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned.



    CHICAGO: Illegal

    Publisher’s Note: The following jurisdictions require waiting periods or notifications to law enforcement officials before weapons may be delivered to purchasers:

    Chicago - application approval/denial for:

    (1) Registration : 120 days

    (2) Re-registration: e.g., by an heir, 365 days)

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Chicago. (More information required on City of Chicago Ordinance)


    ANNAPOLIS: Illegal


    BALTIMORE: Illegal (Including Baltimore County)

    Baltimore City Code 115. Stun guns and similar devices. (e) It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, give away, lend, rent or transfer to any individual, firm or corporation a stun gun or other electronic device by whatever name or description which discharges a non-projectile electric current within the limits of the City of Baltimore. It further shall be unlawful for any person to possess, fire or discharge any such stun gun or electronic device within the City. Nothing in this subsection shall be held to apply to any member of the Baltimore City Police Department or any other law enforcement officer while in the performance of his or her official duty (Ord. 385. 1985).


    HOWARD COUNTY, MD: Illegal

    Sec. 8.404. Sale or possession of electronic weapons prohibited. It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, give away, lend, rent or transfer to any individual, firm or corporation an electronic weapon within the limits of Howard County. It further shall be unlawful for any person to possess, fire, discharge or activate any electronic weapon within the limits of Howard County. (C.B. 38 1985).



    Philadelphia City Ordinance. Statute 10-825 Stun Guns. (1) Definitions. (a) Stun Gun. Any device which expels or projects a projectile which, upon coming in contact with a person, is capable of inflicting injury or an electric shock to such person. (2) Prohibited conduct. Nor person shall own, use, possess, sell or otherwise transfer any "stun gun." (3) Penalty. Any person violating any provision of this section shall be subject to a fine or not more than three hundred (300) dollars and /or imprisonment for not more than ninety (90 days.)


    NEW YORK CITY: Illegal

    Administrative Code of the City of New York 10-135 Prohibition on sale and possession of electronic stun guns.

    a. As used in this section, "electronic stun gun" shall mean any device designed primarily as a weapon, the purpose of which is to stun, render unconscious or paralyze a person by passing an electronic shock to such person, but shall not include an "electronic dart gun" as such term is defined in section 265.00 of the penal law.

    b. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or offer for sale or to have in his or her possession within the jurisdiction of the city any electronic gun.

    c. Violation of this section shall be a class A misdemeanor. [Exemptions under this section are provided for police officers operating under regular department procedures or guidelines and for manufacturers of electronic stun guns scheduled for bulk shipment. NOTE: The electronic stun gun is not a "firearm" under the Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 because it does not "...expel a projectile by the action of an explosive..."]

    SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in New York City

  2. How many milliamps does a stun gun put out?

    The output of a stun gun is in the range of 5-8 milliamps depending on the strength of the battery.

  3. What is the difference between the Taser X26C and the police model X26?

    The Taser X26 is available for law enforcement while the X26C is the consumer model that is similar to it. The consumer model has a 10 second cycle, or it puts out an electric current for ten seconds. If the user squeezes the trigger three times they can force a thirty second cycle. This feature is not available on the law enforcement model.

    The law enforcement model has a 5 second cycle with no option for back to back cycles. When the trigger is released on the Taser X26 the cycle stops. This is another big difference between the two models. The Taser X26C can be dropped during the cycle and will continue to emit a charge, up to the 30 second maximum cycle.

    The main reason for this is that the average user can drop the Taser and leave to seek safety, the law enforcement officer does not have this option.

  4. Will a Taser holster clip onto a 2 1/4 inch duty belt?

    The C2 holsters will only work on a normal civillian style belt. All M26C and X26C model holsters will work on a duty belt.

  5. I am interested in purchasing a Taser. What do I need to do to get it activated?

    Before the sale of any Taser product from us, you will need to contact us directly at 918-820-0441, and we will take specific information from you and run a background check to make sure that you are eligible to own a Taser.

    This background check is free of charge and is used solely for the purpose of owning and activating the M26C or the X26C.

    If you are a resident of Michigan or Illinois and you are wanting to own a Taser or stun gun, you must possess a valid FOID card (Firearm Owner's Identification Card). In the state of Wisconsin you need a CCW (Carrying Concealed Weapon) license or recognized out of state license to legally carry stun guns in Wisconsin.

Back to top